Michchami Dukkadam – Asking for forgiveness

As this is also a blog about my random thoughts, I decided to write something which I was thinking from long time but never got chance to do so.

My followers who are not from India, would not understand this for the most part. You can skip this if you wish to πŸ™‚

 

On the day of sanvatsari, Jains ask for forgiveness from others. As I am half Jain myself now, I’d refer as ‘we’ instead of ‘Jains’.

So we wish ‘Michchami Dukkadam’ which means I ask for your forgiveness for whatever bad I might have caused you knowingly and unknowingly.

Michami-Dukkadam

 

What I have been wondering from quite some some is, when someone greets us with ‘michchami dukkadam’ then what should be our reply? Ofcoruse the ideal reply would be, ‘yes I forgive you’. However I have NEVER heard anyone saying that. It has always been the one way greeting of asking of forgiveness. Anyone else thought about it??

So everyone is asking for forgiveness but no one is forgiving.

Has it just become just a formality to greet everyone and ask for forgiveness? Or we really are interested only in asking for forgiveness but not really willing to forgive others for what they have done?

I do have another theory about ‘forgiving others’ as well. Don’t forgive if you can’t forget.Β I have not seen many in this world who can live upto this theory. This is probably the reason I am not really keen on asking for forgiveness. According to me, it is more of just a formality to ensure we talk to all the relatives. Which is fair in this age πŸ™‚

Most of my Jain friends and relative would disagree, I ask for forgiveness if I have offended anyone πŸ™‚

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Michchami Dukkadam – Asking for forgiveness

  1. I did ask this question to many and I was (almost) kicked out, at least in their thoughts without forgiving me. I know that they never forgave me because many of them still make it a joke that I was asking such ‘stupid’ questions.

    Well, I agree with you. It is merely a formality.

    Some elderly gets ego boost that they got so many relatives who come for forgiveness. Unfortunate for them, i stopped this formality some 15 years back and I’m considered to be a bad child of the family.

    Now, I don’t ask questions about those so called religious things as they hurt the ego of others. I would call that ego because they do not have answers themselves.

    I, finally congratulate you for this lovely blog and very helpful website for travel lovers like me.

    Best wishes.

    1. Thanks drhemani.. Thanks for being open with your thoughts.. Few incidents really made me think that this is just a formality..

      Btw, I can’t even imagine u as a bad boy.. πŸ˜€

  2. It may seem like a mere formality at the superficial aspects of it…
    When we say michami dukadam well assuming whole heartedly; we spread aura of seeking forgiveness. In return the person may or may not forgive… None are obliged to but, by seeking forgiveness we mend that tiny bit of karma in a hope that our sorrows and pain in forthcoming days may be a little less. (hum apna karm karte hain kshama maang kar. Maafi milna nahi milna is not what is important).
    The flip side is there may be instances we choose not to say michami dukadam only because we are so hurt to ask or give forgiveness..
    That’s our personal choice. We not only seek forgiveness from fellow human beings it’s act of seeking it from the each living organism that we have harmed or would harm in any manner knowingly or unknowingly.
    I would not like to invade one’s thought process and alter it . It’s completely up to us to our judgment to follow this norm.

  3. True. It just bring feelings of our festival. As we celebrate Diwali, the new year day; the same is for Samvatsari. Every day is a new day for us, yet we greet by saying happy new year. The same goes for it. Many of us hardly talk with each other in a year, yet we ask for forgiveness. Yes, it is a formality but the same thing is Tradition πŸ™‚ So, once again Michhami Dukdam

Leave a Reply

